History

In 1992, on the basis of the Faculty of Architecture of the Kazakh Academy of Architecture and Civil Engineering at the initiative of Yu.A. I. Bakhmutov, a new specialty was opened - "Design of the architectural environment." At the same time, the Department of Design was opened.

Almost immediately after independence, the Republic of Kazakhstan in 1992, the Kazakh Leading Academy of Architecture and Civil Engineering opened the specialty "Design" as the personification of the beginning of a new time, a new modern view of the organization of the subject-spatial environment of man. Over the past more than 20 years of the profession, a fairly long way has been traveled and valuable experience has been accumulated.

The creator of the design department, the initiator of the opening of the specialty and the first head of the department was Yuri Igorevich Bakhmutov - professor, candidate of architecture, vice president of the Union of Designers of Kazakhstan, who led the department from 1992 to 2000.

But the fruitful activity of Yu.I. Bakhmutov was interrupted by his early death in 2003..

During this period, the Department of Designers of Kazakhstan, headed by T. B. Suleimenov and the Almaty Center for Contemporary Art and its director V. V. Ibraeva, greatly assisted the department.

Initially, the training of designers took place in one direction "Design of the architectural environment". But already in 1993 - for the first time in the CIS - the specialization "Advertising Design" was opened. The development of two fairly independent areas of design gave the learning process originality. Conceptual, graphic activity and expressiveness of advertising influenced the approaches to the design of the architectural environment, especially in terms of graphic presentation and promotion of projects. At the same time, the classical methodology of architectural education, by this time well developed within the walls of KazGASA, the need for spatial and constructive adaptation of advertising objects in the architectural environment stimulated the study of its spatial-temporal perception and design-constructive approach.

The activities of the department firmly entered the practice of working on relevant, socially significant, real projects, active participation and victories in various competitions. Here are some of these works:

1995-1996

- Development of a concept for the transformation of the architectural environment of the city of Turkestan, dedicated to the 1500 anniversary of the city. The experience of a single conceptual theme for graduation projects was introduced for the first time. Each thesis covered a specific narrowly focused part of the topic, and in total they amounted to a completed comprehensive project for the reception of pilgrims and tourists.

1998

- The project of the exhibition "Science of Kazakhstan - from the past to the future", dedicated to the 100th anniversary of K.I. Satpayev, which was held at the UNESCO headquarters in Paris        .

1999

- An exhibition of works by students of the department, organized by the Sports Committee of the Republic of Kazakhstan for the exhibition of the Olympic Museum in Lausanne, Switzerland.
- exhibition of student work dedicated to the victims of Karlag.

2000

- "Saint-Etienne 2000" - Biennale of Design (France). 2 student works took part in the exhibition of design developments
- participation and victory in the competition of the Embassy of the Netherlands to create a symbol of the Small Grants Fund.
- Exhibition and performance, organized by teachers and students of the Almaty Kitsch department, Look Gallery.

2001

- "Youth festival of disposable clothing", under the auspices of the Center for Contemporary Art of Soros-Almaty.
- Center for Contemporary Art of Soros-Almaty. Organization and holding of the international seminar "Felt in Central Asia" under the guidance of teachers from the National School of Industrial Design (Paris, France), students of 2-5 courses of the specialty "Design" and the final joint Franco-Kyrgyz-Kazakhstan exhibition of works in the Ular Gallery     
2002

- Participation of the best diploma works at the exhibition "Advertising and Printing", 5 works were awarded "Participant Diplomas";
- Active participation and victory of students of the department in the competition organized by the European Union "European Film Week".
- Holding an international master class "Design of fixtures" under the guidance of a student of the French school of design, who had an internship at the "Design" department of the IOC.
- Over the past time, 3 French students from the National School of Industrial Design (Paris, France) trained at the department. One of these students is currently implementing a real project, "Festival of Traditional Kazakh Music", with the participation of students of the department "Design".

2019

«I INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL

"DESIGN THINKING FEST 2019" and the International Scientific and Practical Conference "Development and Integration of Education, Science and Production in the Age of Globalization".

Special guests of the festival were representatives of the Italian company iDOGI, led by Sylvia Formentin and the Italian Ambassador to Kazakhstan.

Organization of an international student seminar between KazGASA and the Venetian company “IDOGI”

A unique four-module ceiling chandelier was brought and installed.

The Faculty of Design takes an active part in the organizations of the International festivals of architectural, construction and design schools of Eurasia. She also regularly wins prizes and receives diplomas at international competitions and exhibitions.

История

В 1992 г. на базе архитектурного факультета Казахской архитектурно-строительной академии по инициативе Ю. И. Бахмутова была открыта  новая специальность – «Дизайн архитектурной среды». В это же время была открыта кафедра «Дизайн».
Практически сразу после обретения независимости Республикой Казахстан в 1992 году в Казахской головной архитектурно-строительной академии была открыта специальность «Дизайн», как олицетворение начала нового времени, нового современного взгляда на организацию предметно-пространственной среды человека. За прошедшие более чем 20 лет существования специальности пройден достаточно большой путь и накоплен ценный опыт.
Создателем кафедры дизайна, инициатором открытия специальности и первым заведующим кафедрой был Юрий Игоревич Бахмутов – профессор, кандидат архитектуры, вице-президент Союза дизайнеров Казахстана, руководивший кафедрой с 1992 по 2000 годы. Но плодотворная деятельность Ю.И. Бахмутова была прервана его ранним уходом из жизни в 2003 г.
В этот период огромную помощь кафедре оказывали Союз дизайнеров Казахстана во главе в Т. Б. Сулейменовым и Алматинский Центр современного искусства и его директор В. В. Ибраева.
Первоначально обучение дизайнеров проходило по одному направлению «Дизайн архитектурной среды». Но уже в 1993 году – впервые в СНГ – была открыта специализация «Дизайн рекламы». Развитие двух достаточно самостоятельных направлений дизайна придавало учебному процессу самобытность. Концептуальность, изобразительная активность и выразительность рекламы повлияли на подходы к проектированию архитектурной среды, особенно в части графической подачи и продвижения проектов. В тоже время классическая методика архитектурного образования, к этому времени хорошо развитая в стенах КазГАСА, потребность пространственной и конструктивной адаптированности объектов рекламы в архитектурной среде стимулировали изучение вопросов ее пространственно-временного восприятия и проектно-конструктивного подхода.
В деятельность кафедры прочно вошла практика работы над актуальными, общественно-значимыми, реальными проектами, активное участие и победы в различных конкурсах. Вот некоторые из этих работ:
 
1995-1996 гг.
- Разработка концепции преобразования архитектурной среды города Туркестана, приуроченная к 1500 юбилею города. Впервые был внедрен опыт единой концептуальной темы для дипломных проектов. Каждая дипломная работа освещала определенную узко-направленную часть темы, а суммарно они составили завершенный  комплексный проект по приему паломников и туристов.
 
1998 год
- Проект экспозиции выставки "Наука Казахстана - от прошлого к будущему", посвященная 100-летию К.И.Сатпаева, которая прошла в штаб-квартире ЮННЕСКО в Париже.
 
1999 год
- Выставка работ студентов кафедры, организованная Спорткомитетом РК для выставки Олимпийского музея в Лозанне (Швейцария.)
- выставка студенческих работ, посвященная жертвам Карлага.
 
2000 год
- "Сент-Этьен 2000" - бьеннале дизайна (Франция). 2 студенческие работы приняли участие в выставке дизайнерских разработок
- участие и победа в конкурсе посольства Нидерландов на создание символа Фонда малых грантов.
- Выставка и перфоманс, организованные преподавателями и студентами кафедры "Алматинский Китч", галерея "Look".
 
2001 год
- "Молодежный фестиваль одноразовой одежды", под эгидой Центра современного искусства Сорос-Алматы.
- Центра современного искусства Сороса-Алматы. Организация и проведение международного семинара "Войлок в Центральной Азии" под руководством преподавателей Национальной школы промышленного дизайна (Париж, Франция) студентов 2-5 курсов специальности "Дизайн" и заключительная совместная франко-киргизско-казахстанской выставка работ в галерее "Улар"
   
2002 год
- Участие лучших дипломных работ на выставке "Реклама и полиграфия", 5 работ награждены "Дипломами участника";
- Активное участие и победа студентов кафедры в конкурсе, организованном Европейским Союзом "Неделя европейского кино".
- Проведение международного мастер-класса "Дизайн светильников" под руководством студента французской школы дизайна, стажировавшегося на кафедре "Дизайн" МОК.
- За истекшее время на кафедре стажировались 3 французских студента из Национальной школы промышленного дизайна (Париж, Франция). Один из этих студентов в настоящее время реализует реальный проект, "Фестиваль традиционной казахской музыки", с участием студентов кафедры "Дизайн".
 
2019 год
«I МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЙ ФЕСТИВАЛЬ
«DESIGN THINKING FEST 2019» и Международная Научно-практическафя конференция «Развитие и интеграция образования, науки и производства в эпоху глобализации».
Особыми гостями фестиваля стали представители итальянской компании iDOGI, во главе с Сильвией Форментин и Посол Италии в Казахстане.
Организация международного студенческого семинара  между     КазГАСА и     Венецианской компанией «IDOGI»
Привезен и установлен потолочный уникальный четырехмодульный светильник-люстра
Факультет Дизайна принимает активное участие в организациях Международных фестивалей архитектурно-строительных и дизайнерских школ Евразии. А также регулярно завоевывает премии и получает дипломы в Международных конкурсах и выставках.